About Us

hudson valley magazine covers

For 41 years, Hudson Valley Magazine has been the authority on the people, places, activities, and issues that define the beautiful and ever-evolving Hudson Valley region. Each month, this sophisticated lifestyle publication entertains, informs, and explores so that its loyal readers can enjoy the very best the region has to offer. Hudson Valley Magazine, a division of Today Media, also publishes Westchester/Hudson Valley Weddings, Focus on Albany, and the Casino Guide. It also features a vibrant Web site, hvmag.com; weekly e-newsletters for dining and events; and several signature events, including Best Of Hudson Valley® Party and Excellence in Nursing Awards.

Hudson Valley Magazine is an award-winning regional publication whose mission is to produce a high quality magazine that informs, entertains, and investigates life in the vibrant community it serves.

hudson valley magazine today media

Hudson Valley Magazine is published by Today Media, a locally owned media company. Click here to read more about the Today Media history. Today Media provides a full range of custom content and marketing solutions through Today Media Custom Communications, our custom communications division. From Web site design, mobile apps, and social media content to graphic design, publications, print collateral, ad sales, printing, and events, we’ll create a tailor-made strategy to help your business grow.

845-463-0542  •  Hudson Valley Magazine • 2678 South Rd., Ste. 202, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601

editorial department

olivia abelOlivia J. Abel
Editor-in-Chief
Olivia has been at the helm of Hudson Valley since 2006. Prior to that, the Columbia Journalism School grad had a long publishing career, which includes stints at People Magazine, Vanity Fair, and TV Guide. She has also written for The New York Times and many other publications. Whether conceiving new departments or editing award-winning features, Olivia oversees all editorial operations at the magazine. When not chasing down one-of-a-kind local stories, she’s chasing her three-year-old daughter around Beacon. Contact Olivia at oabel@hvmag.com.

bob supinaBob Supina
Creative Director
Bob is responsible for the design of the award-winning Hudson Valley Magazine. Whether directing photo shoots or conceiving cover designs, he oversees everything that has to do with the publication’s look and aesthetics. In 2012, Bob — a graduate of the School of Visual Arts — was also named Today Media’s Brand Creative Director. In this role, he oversees design and brand compliance for all projects involving Today Media and its properties. Contact Bob at bsupina@hvmag.com.

polly sparling

Polly Sparling
Senior Editor
With previous stints at Reader’s Digest and Scholastic and with an unsurpassed knowledge of the region, the longtime Poughkeepsie resident manages everything from copy-editing to overseeing the intern program to selecting “Polly’s Picks.” She also writes the occasional feature on subjects ranging from historic houses to hiking in the Catskills. Contact Polly at psparling@hvmag.com.

rosemary o'connor

Rosemary O. Fernandez 
Assistant Editor
Rosemary joined the Hudson Valley staff in early 2012, shortly after graduating summa cum laude from Fairfield University in just three years. Previously, she was the editor-in-chief of her college’s literary magazine and also interned at Yankees Magazine. (Yes, the New York Yankees, and yes, she met Derek Jeter.) Currently, Rosemary researches and writes both features and up-front stories, as well as fact-checks the majority of the magazine content. Contact Rosemary at rfernandez@hvmag.com.

jessica friedlander

Jessica Friedlander
Digital Editor
Jessica oversees all content on hvmag.com, including Web exclusive stories, blogs, and contests. She maintains the magazine’s social media pages (like us on Facebook!); designs and edits its newsletters; and has contributed to the print magazine and styled fashion shoots. In 2012, the Marist grad was named Digital Editor of Today Media. Contact Jessica at jfriedlander@hvmag.com.

Shannon Gallagher, Lynn Hazlewood, Rita Ross
Contributing Editors
Arlene So
Contributing Designer
Melissa Esposito, David Levine,
Leander Schaerlaeckens, Hilary Sparling, Rich Thomaselli

Contributing Writers
Kenneth Gabrielsen, Teresa Horgan,
Jennifer May, Michael Nelson, Michael Polito

Contributing Photographers

production department

Kathee Casey-Pennucci
Production Director
kcasey@westchestermagazine.com
Jessica Brown
Associate Art Director
jessica@hvmag.com
Lauren Golde
Imaging Specialist
lgolde@westchestermagazine.com

sales department

Jack Driscoll
Associate Publisher/Director of Advertising
jack@hvmag.com
Daniel M. Morrison
Senior Account Executive
dmorrison@hvmag.com
Douglas Anderson
Account Executive
danderson@hvmag.com
Courtney Larkin
Account Executive
clarkin@hvmag.com
Lora Pelton
Account Executive
lpelton@hvmag.com
Jeanna Pastorella
Digital Account Executive
jpastorella@hvmag.com
Rebecca Coppola
Sales Support Manager
rcoppola@hvmag.com

marketing department

Shanna Kangas
Director of Marketing & Public Relations
skangas@hvmag.com
Paul Greicius
Distribution Coordinator
pgreicius@westchestermagazine.com
Lauren Pecylak
Marketing Associate
lpecylak@hvmag.com

accounting department

Dianne V.A. Green
Controller
dgreen@todaymediainc.com
Jennifer Heller
Staff Accountant 
jheller@todaymediainc.com
Paulette Tolbert
Collections Supervisor
ptolbert@todaymediainc.com
Joan Hassler
Collections Coordinator
jhassler@todaymediainc.com
Deborah Cabassa
Accounts Receivable Supervisor
dcabassa@todaymediainc.com
Jennifer Schuele-Lee
Billing
jschuele@todaymediainc.com
Casey Ossman
Financial Analyst
cossman@todaymediainc.com

circulation department

Greg Wolfe
Circulation Director

Subscription Hotline
1-800-BUY-HVMAG
Jacqueline Smith
Circulation Coordinator
Kelly Murray
Customer Service

web it department

Ethan Fox
Chief Technology Officer
efox@todaymediainc.com
Mike Martinelli
New Media Development Director
mmartinelli@todaymediainc.com
Greg Mathias
Director of Digital Strategy
gmathias@todaymediainc.com
Lenny Carpenito
Director of IT
lcarpenito@todaymediainc.com
Rena Watson
Technologies Manager
rwatson@todaymediainc.com
Louise Woods
Digital Operations Manager
lwoods@todaymediainc.com
Jessica Friedlander
Digital Editor
jfriedlander@hvmag.com
Nicholas Gallinelli
Digital Editor
ngallinelli@westchestermagazine.com
Holly Norton
Digital Editor
hnorton@mainlinetoday.com
Deanna Garrett
Ad Trafficker and Audience Development
dgarrett@todaymediainc.com

today media

Robert F. Martinelli
Chief Executive Officer and President, Today Media
Publisher, Delaware Today

rmartinelli@todaymediainc.com
Ralph A. Martinelli
Vice President, Today Media
Publisher, Westchester Magazine and Hudson Valley Magazine
rmartinelli@westchestermagazine.com
Richard J. Martinelli
Secretary and Treasurer, Today Media
rmartinelli@gazettepress.com
Angelo Martinelli
Chairman, Today Media
amartinelli@gazettepress.com
Jonathan Witty
President, Media Two, the Custom Communications
division of Today Media

jonathan.witty@mediatwo.com