Calendar

Launch Party for Ryan Chapman's "Riots I Have Known"

Date/Time

May 21, 2019
07:00 PM until 08:00 PM

Description

Let's celebrate the first day of American commerce for the debut novel Riots I Have Known (Simon & Schuster). There will be a brief reading, some Q&A, and lots of revelry.

About the book:
An electric, uproarious, and biting debut novel set during a prison riot, told in a high-comic pitch in the tradition of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger.

"Supremely mischievous and sublimely written, this is a stellar work.”
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Joins Rachel Kushner’s The Mars Room on the short list of truly remarkable American prison novels. Chapman’s debut is literally riotous: an improbably beguiling, utterly ribald provocation."
--Jonathan Lethem

About the author:
Ryan Chapman has written online for the New Yorker, GQ, BOMB, Bookforum, and elsewhere. He lives in Kingston and hosts the literary trivia night Nerd Jeopardy.

Cost

0

Location

View map Rough Draft Bar & Books
82 John St.
Kingston, NY

Additional Information

Phone

206-708-5795

Contact name

Ryan Chapman

Contact email

chapmanchapman@gmail.com

County:

Ulster

Neighborhood:

Kingston

We make every effort to ensure the accuracy of this information. However, you should always call ahead to confirm dates, times, location, and other information.

Edit Module
 
Edit Module
Edit Module